h1

Bittersweet: Nothing To Be Bitter About Here

September 26, 2007

I never realized how much I coveted a coffee shop like Bittersweet, Fort Greene’s newest, until it actually arrived.  The concept is kept simple here: great coffee, genuinely friendly service, fantastically addictive ice-cream, fresh pastries, and a welcoming room with wi-fi for the laptop set.  There’s not a gimmick to be found, just a solid, charming coffee shop that is quickly becoming my second office.

(I could do without the owner’s kids running around the place amped on ice-cream, but that happened only one of the several times I’ve been there, and anyway I’m the first to acknowledge that kids tend to annoy me rather more than is probably healthy.  Still, this stands as my only complaint.)

Bittersweet
Dekalb Ave, between Cumberland and Carlton
(phone, exact address, and hours forthcoming)

5 comments

  1. Unfortunately, Bittersweet has a mosquito infestation. My friends and I were eaten alive when we made the mistake of sitting near the radiator.


  2. I love it too but my one complaint would be the lighting situation in the back part of the space — something about it is not entirely conducive to relaxation.


  3. I love this place. The coffee is good, the prices are reasonable, and the service is fast. It’s like the polar opposite of Smooch – thank god.


  4. Great place to work. Lovely coffee, super staff. Drawbacks are really obvious (should owners be reading…) and are: plugs at back are broken, not enough power outlets. Seating area at back lacking in tables or tables that two people can easily both work at. If you’re lucky enough to get a table, hold on to it!


  5. [...] Coconut ice-cream at Bittersweet [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

